Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association
Shop ProRodeo

Tanner honored as 2016 Zoetis PRCA Veterinarian of the Year

by | Oct 18, 2016

Dr. TannerZoetis Animal HealthCOLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – For his dedication and service to rodeo livestock, Dr. Marty Tanner has been selected as the 2016 Zoetis PRCA Veterinarian of the Year. Tanner will be honored at the PRCA Awards Banquet Nov. 30 at the South Point Hotel, Casino & Spa in Las Vegas.

Nomination letters praising Dr. Tanner were received from ProRodeo Hall of Famers Phil Lyne and Joe Beaver; Shawn Davis, Executive General Manager of the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo presented by Polaris RANGER; numerous rodeo contestants; and community dignitaries. These letters spoke of Dr. Tanner’s dedication to the welfare and treatment of rodeo livestock, his community involvement, and commitment to the sport of rodeo. Numerous letters spoke of the individual care and attention offered by Dr. Tanner, despite his busy schedule and clinic responsibilities. Several world champions attribute their success, in part, to Dr. Tanner and his understanding of keeping equine athletes competing at the highest level. 

Other finalists for the 2016 award were Dr. Benjamin Espy, San Antonio, Texas; Dr. Troy Ford, Clovis, Calif.; Dr. Michael Harms, Canby, Ore.; and Dr. Edward Taylor, Laporte, Colo. 

The Zoetis PRCA Veterinarian of the Year Award was created in 2010 to recognize the dedication of veterinarians across North America to the health and welfare of rodeo livestock. PRCA rodeo committees, PRCA members and contestants have the opportunity to nominate a veterinarian whom they feel has shown an extraordinary commitment to the health and welfare of rodeo livestock, and is deserving of this prestigious award. The selection committee reviews those nominations for specific contributions to the health and welfare of rodeo livestock, extent of involvement in the sport of rodeo and community involvement.

Past winners of the Zoetis PRCA Veterinarian of the Year Award are: Dr. William Anderson, Fort Worth, Texas (2010); Dr. Garth Lamb, Las Vegas, Nev. (2011); Dr. Jake Wells, San Antonio, Texas (2012); Dr. Joe Coli, Reno, Nev. (2013); Dr. J. Fred Rule, Elk City, Okla. (2014); and Dr. John Boyington, Phillipsburg, Kan. (2015). 

For full coverage of the 2016 Zoetis PRCA Veterinarian of the Year Award, including an interview with Dr. Tanner, read the Oct. 21 issue of the ProRodeo Sports News. 

Photos of Dr. Tanner are available upon request. For more information, contact Jed Pugsley, 

PRCA Sponsors
MGM Grand Polaris Ranger Cinch Jeans Bloomer Trailers Gold Buckle Beer Outlaw Equine

Copyright © 2020 Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association. All rights reserved. No portion of may be duplicated, redistributed or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by the Terms of Use.

     HTML Sitemap | XML Sitemap
PRCA Wrangler National Finals Rodeo Wrangler ProRodeo Tour Finale Presented by Justin Boots Xtreme Bulls RAM National Circuit Finals Rodeo ProRodeo Gear ProRodeo Tour World Standings Tour Standings PRCA Rodeo Schedule Rodeo Results Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube Mobile App PRCA on CC+