Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association
Official Gear Of The PRCA

For The Record: San Angelo Rodeo

by Matt Naber | Feb 01, 2018

Since 1949, the San Angelo (Texas) Rodeo has hosted some of the biggest names in ProRodeo and witnessed some fast times and high scores, as cowboys competed for this iconic rodeo’s large payout.

Winning big at San Angelo can set the pace for the rest of the year, as it’s committee purse total tied for 24th across all PRCA rodeos in 2017. It’s not unheard of for cowboys to leave with more than $10,000. 

Cowboys have until Feb. 16 to win a piece of the prize money, but only the best make the arena record book.

Steer wrestler and tie-down roper Josh Peek set the San Angelo arena record for most money won in all-around in 2017 with $12,250.

Bareback rider Chad Rutherford set the arena record in 2017 with his 91.5-point ride on Pete Carr Pro Rodeo’s Painted River. The two-head average record was set by Jake Vold in 2016 with 177.5 points. 

Steer wrestler Roy Duvall set the San Angelo record in 1986 with his 2.9-second run, which Ronnie Fields matched in 2007. Duvall returned to San Angelo and set the two-run average record in 1990 in 6.7 seconds. Baylor Roche set the three-run average record in 2017 in 10.2 seconds. The four-run average record was set by Olin Hannum in 2012 in 15.1 seconds. 

San Angelo’s team roping record of 3.5 seconds was set by Blaine Linaweaver and Jory Levy. The three-run average record of 12.6 seconds was set in 2016 by Spencer Mitchell and Justin Wade Davis. San Angelo’s four-run average record of 20.3 seconds was set by Chace Thompson and Chad Williams in 2013. 

Saddle bronc rider Wade Sundell set two arena records in 2015. His 91-point ride on Pete Carr Pro Rodeo’s Manhattan Moon set the San Angelo record for highest-scored ride, which boosted him to setting the two-head average record with 177 points. 

Tie-down roper Shane Hanchey set the San Angelo record in 2014 with his 6.8-second run. The three-run average record of 23.5 seconds was set by Timber Moore in 2014. The four-head average record of 34.1 seconds was set by Cody Ohl in 2007. 

Barrel racer Kay Blandford’s record-setting, 13.64-second run has remained unmatched since 1995. The three-run average record of 42.72 seconds was set by Jennifer Wilson in 2005. 

Steer roper Guy Allen set two arena records in 2001. His 8.5-second run set the San Angelo record for fastest time and boosted his three-head average total into the record books in 30.5 seconds. 

Two bull riders share the San Angelo record of 92 points. Originally set by Eric Bogany in 1994, his record-setting score was matched by Ryan Brown in 2003. The two-head average record of 179 points was set by Zeb Lanham in 2005. 

San Angelo’s record payout was set in 2008 with $492,775.


PRCA National Sponsors

MGM Grand Polaris Ranger American Quarter Horse Association Cinch Jeans

Copyright © 2019 Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association. All rights reserved. No portion of may be duplicated, redistributed or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by the Terms of Use.

PRCA Wrangler National Finals Rodeo Wrangler ProRodeo Tour Finale Presented by Justin Boots Xtreme Bulls RAM National Circuit Finals Rodeo ProRodeo Gear ProRodeo Tour World Standings Tour Standings PRCA Rodeo Schedule Rodeo Results Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube Mobile App ProRodeoTv.Com