Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association
ProRodeo Gear Official Merchandise Of The PRCA

Looking at the leaderboard

by Tracy Renck | Aug 03, 2018


Rank rides and fast times are what every cowboy strives for, but only the highest scores and quickest runs make the leaderboard.

As PRCA athletes grow, their scores and times tend to improve, so here’s a comparison between the leaderboard as of July 31, 2018, and the leaderboard as it stood one year ago on July 29, 2017.

The top bareback ride of the 2018 season belongs to Devan Reilly with his 93-point ride on Beutler & Son Rodeo’s Killer Bee in Tucson, Ariz. One year ago, the top score was 92 points, set by Tim O’Connell on Korkow Rodeos’ Onion Ring in Garden City, Kan.

Two saddle bronc riders have made 92-point rides this season. Jacobs Crawley made his on Frontier Rodeo’s Maple Leaf in Corpus Christi, Texas, and Clay Elliott made his on Calgary Stampede’s Special Delivery in Pollockville, Alberta. The second-highest scored ride of the year was also on Maple Leaf with Brody Cress going for 90.5 in Montgomery, Ala. The top score on July 29, 2017, belonged to Jesse Wright with his 90.5-point ride on Bar T Rodeo’s Bitter Dan at the RAM Wilderness Circuit Finals Rodeo in Heber City, Utah.

Bull riders J.W. Harris and Trey Benton III share the highest score of the 2018 season at 92 points. Harris made his ride on Frontier Rodeo’s After All in Cody, Wyo., and Benton made his ride on Beutler & Son Rodeo’s Lumberjack. One year ago, the top bull riding score was also 92 points, set by Gumby Wren on Barnes PRCA Rodeo’s Ralco’s Centrifuge in Wapello, Iowa. 

The fastest steer wrestling time for the 2018 season is 2.7 seconds, made by Ty Erickson in Okeechobee, Fla. One year ago, two bull doggers shared the top spot with 2.9-second runs. Damian Padilla made his run in Fort Mohave, Ariz., and Straws Milan made his run in Edmonton, Alberta. 

Four sets of team ropers are tied for the fastest time this season at 3.5 seconds. Dustin Egusquiza and Kory Koontz just joined that group with their run in Oakley City, Utah, July 7. Jake Cooper and Cody Doescher made the time in Tulsa, Okla. Jake Orman and Will Woodfin made their run in Denver. Tyler Waters and Cody Hogan clocked theirs in Nampa, Idaho. The leaderboard at this time in 2017 had a 3.4-second time at the top, made by Kaleb Driggers and Junior Nogueira in Redding, Calif.

The fastest tie-down roping run so far this season is 6.8 seconds, made by Marty Yates in Denver. A year ago, the fastest tie-down roping time at that point in the season was 6.6 seconds, made by Hunter Herrin in San Antonio.

Steer roper Chet Herren has the fastest time of the 2018 season with the 8.3-second run he made in Clovis, N.M. A year ago, the fastest time was 8.3 seconds, made by Guy Allen in Mulvane, Kan., at the Clem McSpadden National Finals Steer Roping.

Check back with to find out how the leaderboard changes next week.

8-2-18 Leaderboard

PRCA Sponsors

MGM Grand Polaris Ranger American Quarter Horse Association Cinch Jeans Gold Buckle Beer Outlaw Equine

Copyright © 2019 Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association. All rights reserved. No portion of may be duplicated, redistributed or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by the Terms of Use.

PRCA Wrangler National Finals Rodeo Wrangler ProRodeo Tour Finale Presented by Justin Boots Xtreme Bulls RAM National Circuit Finals Rodeo ProRodeo Gear ProRodeo Tour World Standings Tour Standings PRCA Rodeo Schedule Rodeo Results Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube Mobile App ProRodeoTv.Com