Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association
ProRodeo Gear Official Merchandise Of The PRCA

PRCA For The Record: Eugene

by Matt Naber | Jul 03, 2019

PRCA Media Coordinator

At 28 years old, the Eugene (Ore.) Pro Rodeo is a relatively new name to the Cowboy Christmas run. Since 1992, the rodeo has hosted some of the biggest names in ProRodeo, but only the best left their mark in the rodeo’s record book.

Multi-event cowboy Joe Beaver has held the Eugene tie-down roping record of 7.7 seconds since 1993, the rodeo’s second year with the PRCA. Although he didn’t win the average that year, he returned in 1995 to win Eugene’s all-around title. 

Beaver was inducted into the ProRodeo Hall of Fame in 2002 as an eight-time world champion (all-around in 1995-96 and tie-down roping 1985, 1987-88, 1992-93). But his career was far from over since he’s still competing.

Beaver started his ProRodeo career by winning his first world title in 1985, also earning PRCA Tie-down Roping and Overall Rookie of the Year honors that year. 

So far, he’s made 22 trips to the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo (TD 1985-88, 1990-98, 2000-01, 2003-04, 2006; TR 1997, 2000, 2002, 2006). Beaver also won Wrangler NFR average titles in 1987-88, 1992 and 1996. 

In 2001, he was named the Coors Original Fans Favorite Cowboy.

In 2014, he became the fifth man to surpass $3 million in PRCA career earnings when he and Reno Gonzales finished fifth in the team roping average at the Southwestern Exposition and Livestock Show in Fort Worth, Texas.

Beaver’s list of accomplishments is substantial, including wins at:
• The Black Hills Stock Show and Rodeo in Rapid City, S.D. (2000)
• The Clark County Fair & Rodeo in Logandale, Nev. (2002)
• The Cody (Wyo.) Stampede (2002)
• The Dinosaur Roundup Rodeo in Vernal, Utah (2003-04)
• The Ellensburg (Wash.) Rodeo (1992, 1994-95, 1998, 2006)
• The Farm-City Pro Rodeo in Hermiston, Ore. (1994, 2001, 2004, 2008)
• The Greeley (Colo.) Stampede (2008)
• La Fiesta de los Vaqueros in Tucson, Ariz. (1985, 1997, 2000, 2009)
• The Pendelton (Ore.) Round-Up (2006)
• The Pikes Peak or Bust Rodeo in Colorado Springs, Colo. (2002)
• RodeoHouston (1996, 2000)
• The San Antonio Stock Show and Rodeo (1993, 1995, 2004, 2006)
• The Sisters (Ore.) Rodeo (1993-94, 1997-98, 2008)
• The Snake River Stampede in Nampa, Idaho (1995, 1997, 2001, 2003, 2004)
• The Southwestern Exposition & Livestock Show in Fort Worth, Texas (1996)
• The St. Paul (Ore.) Rodeo (1995, 1998, 2001-02)
• The West of the Pecos (Texas) Rodeo (2004)

Cowboys will have a chance to beat Beaver’s 26-year-old Eugene record, and the rest, July 3-6.

Rodeo Records

Total payout: $170,834 in 1996
All-around: $4,902, Ty Murray, 1993
Bareback riding: 87 points, Jason Jeter, 1997
Steer wrestling: 3.5 seconds, Riley Duvall, 2018
Team roping: 4.4 seconds, Riley Minor/Brady Minor, 2007
Saddle bronc riding: 83 points, Guy Shapka, 1994; Dan Mortensen, 1997; Cody Wright, 2012; Alex Wright, 2012; Max Filippini, 2016
Tie-down roping: 7.7 seconds, Joe Beaver, 1993
Barrel racing: 16.95 seconds, Kay Blandford, 1996
Bull riding: 93 points, Terry Don West, 1995; Scott Mendes, 1999

PRCA Sponsors

MGM Grand Polaris Ranger Cinch Jeans Bloomer Trailers Gold Buckle Beer Outlaw Equine

Copyright © 2019 Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association. All rights reserved. No portion of may be duplicated, redistributed or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by the Terms of Use.

PRCA Wrangler National Finals Rodeo Wrangler ProRodeo Tour Finale Presented by Justin Boots Xtreme Bulls RAM National Circuit Finals Rodeo ProRodeo Gear ProRodeo Tour World Standings Tour Standings PRCA Rodeo Schedule Rodeo Results Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube Mobile App ProRodeoTv.Com