Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association
ProRodeo Gear Official Merchandise Of The PRCA

PRCA For The Record: Window Rock

by Matt Naber | Jul 04, 2019

PRCA Media Coordinator

The Annual Fourth of July Celebration & PRCA Rodeo in Window Rock, Ariz., has presented a window of opportunity for a successful Cowboy Christmas run since 1987. 

As part of the Navajo Nation’s annual Fourth of July celebration, this rodeo is rich in Navajo tradition combined with ProRodeo stardom. Window Rock’s team roping record is held by a member of the Navajo Nation, Derrick Begay, an eight-time qualifier for the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo (2008-13, 2015, 2018).

One record that’s unlikely to be broken any time soon is bull rider Clayton Foltyn’s 94-point ride on Andrews Rodeo’s Body Works in 2010. 

Foltyn started his ProRodeo career with a bang, winning the PRCA Overall, All-Around and Bull Riding Rookie of the Year titles in 2004 as well as the Texas Circuit Rookie of the Year. He went on to become a three-time qualifier for the Wrangler NFR (2005, 2011, 2015).

Foltyn ended the 2018 season $10,972 shy of breaking the $1 million mark in career earnings. The Texas cowboy isn’t currently entered for any rodeos, but he did enter some earlier in the 2019 season, so it’s possible he could keep going and make that milestone. 

Between bull riding and bareback riding, Foltyn has picked up wins at some of the biggest ProRodeo events, including:
• Cheyenne (Wyo.) Frontier Days (2009 and 2016)
• The National Western Stock Show & Rodeo in Denver (2005)
• The Pendleton (Ore.) Round-Up (2004 and 2013)
• The Reno (Nev.) Xtreme Bulls (2008, 2010 and 2015) and the Wrangler ProRodeo Tour Round at Reno in 2006
• The Southwestern Exposition & Livestock Rodeo in Fort Worth, Texas (2005)

Cowboys will have their chance to break Window Rock’s records July 4-6.

Rodeo records

Total payout: $167,905, 2007
All-around: $5,811, Trevor Brazile, 2013
Bareback riding: 93 points, Tom McFarland, 2006
Steer wrestling: 3.1 seconds, Jacob Antone, 1988; Dale Meinecke, 1995
Team roping: 3.9 seconds, Derrick Begay/Cesar de la Cruz, 2012
Saddle bronc riding: 88 points, Glen O’Neill, 1999; Billy Etbauer, 2009; Tyler Corrington, 2010; Jake Wright, 2012
Tie-down roping: 7.3 seconds, Justin Macha, 2004
Barrel racing: 15.60 seconds, Kassidy Dennison, 2013 and 2014
Bull riding: 94 points Clayton Foltyn, 2010

PRCA Sponsors

MGM Grand Polaris Ranger Cinch Jeans Bloomer Trailers Gold Buckle Beer Outlaw Equine

Copyright © 2019 Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association. All rights reserved. No portion of may be duplicated, redistributed or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by the Terms of Use.

PRCA Wrangler National Finals Rodeo Wrangler ProRodeo Tour Finale Presented by Justin Boots Xtreme Bulls RAM National Circuit Finals Rodeo ProRodeo Gear ProRodeo Tour World Standings Tour Standings PRCA Rodeo Schedule Rodeo Results Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube Mobile App ProRodeoTv.Com