Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association
ProRodeo Gear Official Merchandise Of The PRCA

PRCA For The Record: Tri-State Rodeo

by Matt Naber | Sep 04, 2019

PRCA Media Coordinator

With less than a month left in the regular season, cowboys seeking to make the Top 15 to qualify for the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo might try their luck at the Tri-State Rodeo in Fort Madison, Iowa. 

Since 1948, this Hawkeye State rodeo has attracted some of the biggest names in professional rodeo, but only the best left their mark by setting a rodeo record, and sometimes it’s the same cowboy. 

Bareback rider Kaycee Feild shared the previous Fort Madison record of 88 points with Bobby Mote (2009), Wes Stevenson (2009), Ty Breuer (2012) and Will Lowe (2014). His 2013 score remained part of the record until 2018 when he broke that record with an 88.5-point ride on Cervi Championship Rodeo's Ain't No Angel.

Feild is a second-generation world champion with four world titles (2011-14) and the son of ProRodeo Hall of Famer Lewis Feild, a five-time world champion (all-around, 1985-87, and bareback riding, 1985-86). 

Since joining the PRCA in 2007, Kaycee Feild has joined the ranks of the select few to win more than $2 million, thanks in part to his nine Wrangler NFR qualifications (2008-15 and 2018). The Utah cowboy is well on his way to his 10th qualification, holding the top spot in the PRCA | RAM World Standings for bareback riding for the majority of the season. 

So far, his 2019 season has been highlighted with wins at RodeoHouston, the Caldwell (Idaho) Night Rodeo, the Spanish Fork (Utah) Fiesta Days Rodeo, the Horse Heaven / Kennewick (Wash.) Round-Up and the World’s Oldest Rodeo in Prescott, Ariz. 

Cowboys will have their chance to break Feild's record, and the rest, while winning their share of the Fort Madison prize money Sept. 5-7. In addition to the rodeo, Fort Madison is also hosting a new and separate competition, the Tri-State Rodeo Cinch Shoot-Out, Sept. 4. 

Rodeo records

  • Total payout: $138,524, 2001
  • All-around: $5,847, Ronnie Hyde, 2002
  • Bareback riding: 88.5 Kaycee Feild, 2018
  • Steer wrestling: 3.4 seconds, Garet McMurry, 2006 (7.6/2, Justin Smith, 1995)
  • Team roping: 4.4 seconds, Clay Tryan/Jade Corkill, 2017 (10.4/2, Adam Rose/Gabe Gwaltney, 2010)
  • Saddle bronc riding: 90 points, Heith DeMoss, 2012
  • Tie-down roping: 7.2 seconds, Cory Solomon, 2013; Jake Hannum, 2013 (15.1/2, Cory Solomon, 2013)
  • Barrel racing: 16.76 seconds, Kay Blandford, 2001
  • Bull riding: 91 points, Ardie Maier, 2010

PRCA Sponsors

MGM Grand Polaris Ranger Cinch Jeans Bloomer Trailers Gold Buckle Beer Outlaw Equine

Copyright © 2020 Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association. All rights reserved. No portion of may be duplicated, redistributed or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by the Terms of Use.

PRCA Wrangler National Finals Rodeo Wrangler ProRodeo Tour Finale Presented by Justin Boots Xtreme Bulls RAM National Circuit Finals Rodeo ProRodeo Gear ProRodeo Tour World Standings Tour Standings PRCA Rodeo Schedule Rodeo Results Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube Mobile App ProRodeoTv.Com