Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association
ProRodeo Gear Official Merchandise Of The PRCA

PRCA For The Record: Albuquerque

by Matt Naber | Sep 09, 2019

PRCA Media Coordinator

The only thing hotter than the weather at the New Mexico State Fair & Rodeo in Albuquerque has been the record-setting competition the rodeo has witnessed since 1953.

With the end of the regular season approaching during Albuquerque’s rodeo, cowboys are running and gunning to make as much money as possible to break into the Top 15 and qualify for the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo. 

Bareback rider Royce Ford qualified for the Wrangler NFR eight times (2003-09, 2011), and during that time he set three records in Albuquerque that still stand. 

In 2006, Ford made a 92-point ride on Bar T Rodeo’s Eight Ball, which helped him to also set the three-head average record of 258 points. He returned to Albuquerque in 2007 and set the two-head average record of 174 points. 

The Colorado cowboy won more than $1.06 million during his ProRodeo career from 2000-11 and still holds records at eight of the PRCA’s biggest competitions. In addition to Albuquerque, Ford is listed at the top of the record books for Pueblo, Colo., Vernal, Utah, Greeley, Colo., Reno, Nev., Santa Fe, N.M., Red Bluff, Calif., and Austin, Texas. 

Cowboys have from Sept. 10-15 to top Ford’s records, and others, while competing for their share of the Albuquerque prize money.

Rodeo records

  • Total payout: $226,941, 2006
  • All-around: $7,620, Lance Robinson, 1989
  • Bareback riding: 92 points, Royce Ford, 2006 (174/2, Royce Ford, 2007; 258/3, Royce Ford, 2006)
  • Steer wrestling: 3.2 seconds, Sean Mulligan and Dirk Tavenner, 2017 (6.9/2, Lance Robinson, 1987)
  • Team roping: 3.8 seconds, Derrick Begay/Victor Aros, 2008 (8.8/2, Derrick Begay/Victor Aros, 2007)
  • Saddle bronc riding: 90 points, Heith DeMoss, 2007 (172/2, Heith DeMoss, 2007; 247/3, Tom Reeves, 2001)
  • Tie-down roping: 6.5 seconds, Trevor Brazile, 2010 (14.1/2, Trevor Brazile, 2010)
  • Barrel racing: 14.97 seconds, Taylor Langdon, 2016 (30.34/2, Cassie Moseley, 2009)
  • Bull riding: 95 points, Jack Himes, 1972; Dan Wolfe, 2000 (184/2, Dan Wolfe, 2000)

PRCA Sponsors
MGM Grand Polaris Ranger Cinch Jeans Bloomer Trailers Gold Buckle Beer Outlaw Equine

Copyright © 2020 Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association. All rights reserved. No portion of may be duplicated, redistributed or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by the Terms of Use.

PRCA Wrangler National Finals Rodeo Wrangler ProRodeo Tour Finale Presented by Justin Boots Xtreme Bulls RAM National Circuit Finals Rodeo ProRodeo Gear ProRodeo Tour World Standings Tour Standings PRCA Rodeo Schedule Rodeo Results Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube Mobile App PRCA on CC+